logo

A S U

egypt أهلاً بك في جامعة عين شمس

أ.د. كريمات السيد أستاذة علم البلورات بجامعة عين شمس

16445 2021-10-19

 

حاصلة على جائزة اليونسكو لوريال عام 2003

أحد رواد اكتشاف علاقة الاهتزازات الحرارية لذرات المادة بالتمدد الحراري

تطوير الصناعة بين العلم وإمكانياته وعزوف المصنعين والمسؤولين

كريمات السيد أحد أعلام مصر في علم البلورات، استاذ البلورات المتفرغ - كلية العلوم - جامعة عين شمس، وأحد رواد شعبة فيزياء المواد المؤسسين بجامعة عين شمس.

تخرجت في جامعة عين شمس وحققت أبحاثها للدكتوراه في "جامعة لندن" نتائج هامة في صناعات التعدين، ومواد أشباه الموصلات، والطب فهي من الرائدات في اكتشاف علاقة الاهتزازات الحرارية لذرات المادة بالتمدد الحراري للمادة نفسها، وكان للأبحاث التي نشرتها خلال عملها كأستاذة فيزياء المواد الصلبة في جامعة عين شمس دورا بارزا في تحديد علاقة خلل التركيب الذري للمواد بتكون حصى المثانة، وتشقق أورام الألمنيوم المستخدمة في الأغراض المنزلية والصناعية.

تمكنت من الوصول لاختراعين كان لهما دور هام في الأبحاث العلمية، وتوصلت مسيرة العطاء لديها حيث تسعى من خلال وحدة التركيب البلوري ويحود الأشعة السينية في جامعة عين شمس إلى المساهمة في تطوير الصناعة.

عَلَم علمي مشرف للمرأة المصرية، مثلتها في مختلف دول العالم وتولت قيادة اتحادات دولية علمية... إنها الأستاذة الدكتورة كريمات السيد، باحثة وعالمة نشأت في عائلة تحب العلم وتهتم بتطويره وابتكار كل ما يمكن أن يكون جديدا، كرست حياتها من أجل العلم وإفادة العالم بما علمت وتعلمت، تسعى دؤبة لنقل علمها وخبرتها لأجيال قادمة، حصلت على العديد من الجوائز الدولية والمصرية، ومن بينها وأبرزها جائزة اليونسكو/لوريال لعام 2003، وذلك لابتكارها نوعا جديدا من العلاج وهو العلاج بالبلورات"، وترأست وحدة التركيب البلوري وحيود الأشعة السينية في جامعة عين شمس.

كان للأستاذة الدكتورة كريمات السيد أستاذة علم البلورات العديد من الاكتشافات والاختراعات التي برزت أهميتها في العلوم المختلفة، ومن بينها اكتشافها للتركيب البنائي لحصوات الكلى، حيث استطاعت سنة 1971 معرفة أن الحصى تتكون من نوع من البكتيريا إضافة إلى دهون مترسبة، وقد اكتشف العلماء ذلك طبيا العام الماضي فقط.

كما تمكنت الدكتورة كريمات من معرفة أن الجزء الفعال في بعض الأعشاب والنباتات الطبيعية في سيناء يتغير وفقا لطبيعة التربة، وأن تركيز المواد الفعالة المستخدمة في بعض الأدوية في نباتات سيناء يعتبر أكثر من غيره من النباتات، علاوة على أنها استطاعت في 2003 اكتشاف التركيب البنائي لنوعين من نباتات سيناء، وذلك يمكن الباحثين من صناعة دواء يمنع التغذية عن بعض الفيروسات، علما بأن الأدوية التي تعتمد هذا الأسلوب من العلاج تكلف نحو 600 مليون دولار.

ولم تنقطع الدكتورة كريمات السيد عن مساعدة الباحثين والطلاب والبحاث حيث أنها تعاونت مع بعضهم في تحسين خواص عدد من المواد لتصبح أكثر صلابة من الرصاص، حيث تمت صناعة سبائك من معدن التنجستين الذي لا يمكن تشكيله وذلك من خلال إدخال مواد أخرى عليه مثل الحديد والنيكل والكوبل بنسب معينة وبذلك أصبح المنتج مادة صلبة جدا تزيد صلابتها عن الرصاص.

     
 
     

تطوير الصناعة بين العلم وإمكانياته وعزوف المصنعين والمسؤولين

ومن جهة أخرى فقد ساهمت الدكتورة كريمات السيد في مساعدة الجهات الصناعية في عدة مجالات وفرت عليها مبالغ طائلة كما أنها وفرت لها منتجات ذات جودة عالية وبأيدي مصرية، حيث أنها استطاعت تعليم بعض المختصين في أحد مصانع الزجاج صناعة الزجاج، وذلك من خلال تحليل المواد المكونة للزجاج المستورد ونسبها وبذلك تمكنوا من استجلاب المواد الخام وصناعة الزجاج بأنفسهم.

وعملت الدكتورة كريمات على تصميم مواد بجودة إلكترونية عالية وتملك درجات عزل مرتفعة، في هذا السياق وجد مصنع يقوم بتصنيع العازلات الكهربائية، أن هناك منتجات ذات جودة وأخرى غير ذلك رغم أن المادة المكونة للتصنيع واحدة، فجاء إلى الوحدة بالمنتوج وقام الباحثين في الوحدة بتحليل المشكلة فكانت النتيجة أن المادة واحدة ولكن التركيب البنائي في المنتج غير الفعال مختلف، بعدها قام المصنع بشراء الجهاز الذي تم تحليل العينات عليه وعمل الباحثين في الوحدة على تدريب كوادر في المصنع لاستخدامه وهم الان يعملون وفقا لنظام علمي بحت، وأصبح منتوجهم أكثر جودة، ونسب الخسائر بسبب المادة الفعالة قلت.

ومن جانب آخر تمت مساعدة أحد شركات الأدوية في معرفة مدى فاعلية الدوية التي يتم استيرادها من الخارج أو صناعتها في الداخل، جدير بالذكر أن هناك أدوية تتأثر بالحرارة والرطوبة والتخزين وغير ذلك ما يؤثر على درجة فعالية المادة الكيماوية الفعالة فيها، وبإجراء بعض التحاليل واستخدام بعض الأجهزة المتطورة تمكنا من معرفة درجة فعاليتها.

وفي إطار الأدوية أيضا، هناك كميات من الأدوية تستخدم مواد فعالة ممتازة ولكنها مع ذلك غير ذات فعالية جيدة، ومن خلال تحليل بعض أنواع الأدوية اكتشفنا أن تلك المواد الفعالة تحتاج فقط لتغيير في درجة الحرارة.

وتمكنت السيد بالتعاون مع الفريق البحثي الذي يضم أساتذة وأساتذة مساعدين ومدرسين ومدرسين مساعدين على أعلى المستويات من معرفة مكونات السيراميك ومكنوا إحدى شركات السيراميك التي لجأت اليهم من معرفتها وأصبحوا (الشركات) يقومون الآن بتصنيعها بدلا من استيرادها، وبذلك وفرنا عليهم مبالغ مالية كبيرة في الاستيراد.

وومن جهة أخرى واجه بعض مربي الدواجن في إحدى الفترات مشكلة أن كل الدواجن لديهم مصابة بالعرج دون وضوح سبب هذه الاصابة، الأمر الذي دفعهم للجوء إلي الوحدة التي طلبت عينة من الأعلاف التي تتناولها الدواجن وتبين أنها خالية تماما من الكالسيوم وبالتالي فمن الطبيعي أن تصاب هذه الدواجن بالكساح.

ولم تكتفي عالمة علم البلورات بالأبحاث والاكتشافات ومساعدة الآخرين في تطوير أعمالهم وزيادة كفاءتها ولكنها لجأت أيضا إلى تنظيم دورات ومحاضرات في عدّة مناطق وجامعات، كما أنها نظمت أكثر من 15 ورشة عمل تعليمية لنشر هذا العمل.

ويعتبر عدد المختصين في هذا العلم على مستوى مصر صغير جدا لا يتجاوز 25 باحث، وذلك لأتع علم صعب يحتاج إلى إلمام كامل بعدة علوم أخرى منها الهندسة الفراغية والكيمياء والفيزياء والبيولوجيا، ورغم قلة عدد المختصين في علم البلوات إلا أن المستخدمين له كثر.

يشار الى أن الأستاذ الدكتورة كريمات السيد تولت العديد من المناصب العلمية منها أنها رئيس جمعية البلورات ورئيس اللجنة الوطنية لهذا العلم، علاوة على أنها عضو في المجالس القومية، كما أن تولت رئاسة الاتحاد الدولي للبلورات شعبة التعليم لمدة 3 سنوات، هذا بخلاف حضورها لأغلب المؤتمرات الدولية التي عقدت في هذا المجال على مستوى العالم.

حصلت الدكتورة كريمات السيد على جائزة لوريال اليونيسكو للمرأة في العلوم، عام 2003، تمنح هذه الجائزة 100.000 دولار للنساء القياديات في كل قارة، كما أنها كانت واحدة من خمس نساء عربيات حصلن على هذه الجائزة من بين عام 1998 و2010.

توفيت كريمات السيد في 21 نوفمبر عام 2016، بعد مسيرة طويلة من العطاء، ومن بعدها أعلنت جامعة عين شمس عن جائزة كريمات السيد، وهي جائزة أكاديمية تمنحها جامعة عين شمس لصاحب أحسن بحث منفرد على مستوى الجامعة في تخصص علم البلورات، ويشترط أن يكون أحد المحكمين للبحث عضو من أعضاء اللجنة القومية لعلم البلورات، وقيمة الجائزة "1500 جنيه".

egypt Welcome to Ain Shams University

Prof. Dr. Karimat El-Sayed, Professor of Crystallography at Ain Shams University

2021-10-19

Winner of the L'Oréal UNESCO Award in 2003

One of the founding pioneers in discovering thermal vibrations

The development of the industry between science and its capabilities and the reluctance of operations and officials

Karimat El-Sayed is one of Egypt's leading figures in crystallography, full-time professor of crystals - Faculty of Science - Ain Shams University, and one of the founding pioneers of the Materials Physics Division at Ain Shams University.

She graduated from Ain Shams University and her doctoral research at the University of London achieved important results in the mining industries, semiconductor materials, and medicine. Ain Shams University played a prominent role in determining the relationship of the defect of the atomic structure of materials to the formation of bladder stones, and the cracking of aluminum tumors used for domestic and industrial purposes.

She managed to come up with two inventions that played an important role in scientific research, and her bidding process led to her endeavoring through the crystal structure unit and X-ray diffraction at Ain Shams University to contribute to the development of the industry.

An honorable scientific example for the Egyptian woman, who represented her in various countries of the world and led international scientific federations... She is Prof. Dr. Karimat El-Sayed, a researcher and scientist who grew up in a family that loves science and is interested in developing it and inventing everything that can be new. She devoted her life to science and benefiting the world with what She has learned and educated, striving to pass on her knowledge and experience to future generations. She has received many international and Egyptian awards, among them the most notable of which is L’Oréal UNESCO Award for the year 2003, for inventing a new type of treatment, which is crystal therapy." She headed the crystal structure and X-ray diffraction unit at Ain Shams University.

Dr. Karimat El-Sayed, a professor of crystallography, had many discoveries and inventions that became important in different sciences, including her discovery of the structural composition of kidney stones. just past.

Dr. Karimat was also able to know that the active part of some herbs and natural plants in Sinai changes according to the nature of the soil, and that the concentration of active substances used in some medicines in Sinai plants is more than that of other plants. In addition, she was able in 2003 to discover the structural composition of two types of Sinai plants, and this enables researchers to manufacture a drug that prevents feeding from some viruses, knowing that medicines that adopt this method of treatment cost about 600 million dollars.

Dr. Karimat El-Sayed did not stop helping researchers, students and researchers, as she cooperated with some of them in improving the properties of a number of materials to become more solid than lead, as alloys were made of tungsten metal, which cannot be formed, by introducing other materials to it such as iron, nickel and cobalt in proportions Thus, the product became a very solid substance, its hardness exceeds that of lead.

     
 
     

Development of industry between science and its capabilities, and the reluctance of manufacturers and officials

On the other hand, Dr. Karimat El-Sayed contributed to helping industrial bodies in several areas, saving them huge sums of money and providing them with high-quality products with Egyptian hands, as she was able to teach some specialists in a glass factory the glass industry, by analyzing the materials that make up glass They were able to import raw materials and manufacture glass themselves.

Dr. Karimat worked on designing high-quality electronic materials that have high levels of insulation. In this context, a factory that manufactures electrical insulators found that there are quality products and others that are not, even though the material that makes up the manufacturing is the same, so he came to the unit with the product and the researchers in the unit analyzed the problem, and it was The result is that the material is the same, but the structural composition of the ineffective product is different. After that, the factory purchased the device on which the samples were analyzed, and the researchers in the unit trained cadres in the factory to use it. They are now working according to a purely scientific system, and their product has become more quality, and losses rates decreased due to the active substance.

On the other hand, one of the pharmaceutical companies was helped in knowing the effectiveness of the medicine that is imported from abroad or manufactured at home. It is worth mentioning that there are medicines affected by heat, humidity, storage and other things that affect the degree of effectiveness of the active chemical in them, and by conducting some analyzes and using some devices We were able to know the degree of its effectiveness.

Within the framework of medicines also, there are quantities of medicines that use excellent active substances, but nonetheless they do not have good efficacy, and by analyzing some types of medicines, we discovered that these active substances only need a change in temperature.

El-Sayed, in cooperation with the research team, which includes professors, assistant professors, teachers and assistant teachers at the highest levels, was able to know the components of ceramics, and they enabled one of the ceramic companies that resorted to them to know them, and they (the companies) are now manufacturing them instead of importing them, and thus we saved them large sums of money in importing.

In addition, some poultry breeders faced at one time the problem that all their poultry had lameness without the cause of this injury being clear, which prompted them to resort to the unit that requested a sample of the feed that the poultry eat and it turned out that it is completely free of calcium and therefore it is normal for these poultry to become infected rickets.

The crystallography scientist was not satisfied with research and discoveries and helping others to develop their work and increase its efficiency, but also resorted to organizing courses and lectures in several regions and universities, and organized more than 15 educational workshops to disseminate this work.

The number of specialists in this science at the level of Egypt is very small, not exceeding 25 researchers, due to the most difficult science that requires full knowledge of several other sciences, including spatial engineering, chemistry, physics and biology, and despite the small number of specialists in crystallography, the users of it are many.

It is noteworthy that Prof. Dr. Karimat El-Sayed held many scientific positions, including being the president of the Crystal Society and the head of the National Committee for this science, in addition to being a member of the national councils, and she also assumed the presidency of the International Federation of Crystals Education Division for 3 years, in addition to her attendance at most international conferences. held in this field worldwide.

Dr. Karimat was awarded the L'Oréal-UNESCO Awarad for Women in Science, 2003. This award rated $100,000 to women leaders on every continent. She was one of five Arab women to receive this award between 1998 and 2010.

Karimat El-Sayed passed away on November 21, 2016, after a long journey of giving, after which Ain Shams University announced Karimat El-Sayed Award, an academic award granted by Ain Shams University to the author of the best single research at the university level in the field of crystallography, and it is required that he be one of the arbitrators. For research, a member of the National Committee for Crystallography, and the value of the prize is "1500 pounds".