أهلا بك في جامعة عين شمس

أ.د. ممدوح الدماطي

 

وهب حياته للآثار.. وكرس وقته للبحث في هذا العلم.. كان شغوفا بسبر أغوار التاريخ ومعرفة الحقائق وكشف الستار عن الأسرار الخفية.. إنه الأستاذ الدكتور ممدوح محمد جاد الدماطي، أستاذ علم المصريات بقسم الآثار – كلية الآداب – جامعة عين شمس.

الدماطي من مواليد 6 ديسمبر 1961 بالقاهرة، تخرج في كلية الآثار جامعة القاهرة عام 1983، وحصل على ماجستير الآثار المصرية القديمة عام 1989 من الجامعة ذاتها وكان موضوع الرسالة "قاعة ست مسخنت بمعبد دندرة، دراسة دينية ولغوية"، ثم سافر إلى جامعة ترير بألمانيا الاتحادية للحصول على الدكتوراه في علم المصريات بتقدير امتياز مع مرتبة الشرف، وتضمن امتحان الدكتوراه العلوم التالية: علم الآثار المصرية القديمة "مادة أساسية" وعلم الآثار اليونانية والرومانية "مادة فرعية أولى وعلم الأعراق البشرية "مادة فرعية ثانية".

جهده الدماطي وكده واهتمامه بالآثار جعله كفؤًا لشغل العديد من المناصب، منها أمين مساعد (بعقد) بالمتحف المصري بالقاهرة صيف 1981، وصيف 1982 ومن يونيو 1983 حتى يناير 1984، ثم من أبريل 1985 حتى سبتمبر 1987، أمين بمتحف كلية الآثار جامعة القاهرة من أكتوبر 1988 حتى يناير 1996، مدير عام المتحف المصري من أول فبراير 2001 حتى آخر يناير 2004، ثم وزير الآثار المصري السابق في حكومة إبراهيم محلب.

إلى جانب عمله الإداري لم ينسى الدماطي اهتمامه بالعلم، حيث حرص على استمرار عطائه من خلال العمل كمدرس الآثار المصرية القديمة بكلية السياحة والفنادق – جامعة القاهرة فرع الفيوم من 15 يناير 1996 وحتى 5 أغسطس 1998، مدرس الآثار المصرية القديمة بقسم الآثار بكلية الآداب – جامعة عين شمس من 6 أغسطس 1998 حتى 31 يناير 2001، أستاذ مساعد الآثار المصرية القديمة بكلية الآداب جامعة عين شمس من 25 مارس 2001 حتى 20 أغسطس 2006، أستاذ الآثار المصرية القديمة منذ 21 أغسطس 2006، أستاذ زائر بقسم الآثار المصرية القديمة بجامعة بازل بسويسرا في الفصل الدراسي الصيفي 2005، كما درّس مواد "آثار مصر في العصر المتأخر والعصر البطلمي" و"تاريخ الفن المصري القديم" بقسم الآثار المصرية بالجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة منذ أول فبراير 2006

وشارك الدكتور الدماطى في العديد من المؤتمرات الدولية، وأشرف على عدد من الرسائل العلمية، وله العديد من الأبحاث العلمية، كما حصل على وسام "فارس" من رئيس جمهورية إيطاليا في العاشر من أكتوبر 2004.

وتمكن الدماطي خلال فترة توليه حقيبة الآثار من استرداد 460 قطعة أثرية وافتتاح 12 موقعا أثريًا في مصر.

مسيرة حافلة بالعلم.. زاخرة بالعطاء، مميزة بالعمل على استرجاع الآثار المصرية والتعريف بها في كل محفل.

Welcome to Ain Shams University

Prof. Dr. Mamdouh Al-Damati

 

A man granted his life to archeology ... and devoted his time to researching this science ... as he was passionate about exploring the depths of history, knowing the facts, and uncovering hidden secrets ... He is Prof. Dr. Mamdouh Muhammad Gad Al-Damati, Professor of Egyptology at the Department of Archeology - Faculty of Arts - Ain Shams University.

Al-Damati was born on December 6, 1961 in Cairo, graduated from the Faculty of Archeology, Cairo University in 1983, and had a master's degree in ancient Egyptian antiquities in 1989 from the same university.  The doctoral thesis was " Sitt Musakhanet Hall at Dendera Temple, a religious and linguistic study." Then he traveled to the University of Trier in Germany to obtain a doctorate in Egyptology with honors, and the doctoral examination included the following sciences: Ancient Egyptian Archeology, "basic subject" and science Greek and Roman Archeology, "First Sub-Subject, and Ethnology," Second Sub-material.

Al-Damati's effort, diligence and interest in antiquities made him qualified to occupy many positions, including Assistant Secretary (with a contract) in the Egyptian Museum in Cairo in the summer of 1981, summer 1982 and from June 1983 until January 1984, then from April 1985 until September 1987, Secretary of the Museum of the Faculty of Archeology, Cairo University from October 1988 Until January 1996, Director General of the Egyptian Museum from the first of February 2001 until the end of January 2004, then the former Egyptian Minister of Antiquities in the government of Ibrahim Mahlab.

Beside his administrative work, Al-Damati did not forget his interest in science, as he was keen on continuing his efforts by working as a teacher of ancient Egyptian antiquities at the Faculty of Tourism and Hotels - Cairo University, Fayoum Branch, from January 15, 1996 to August 5, 1998, teacher of ancient Egyptian antiquities, Department of Archeology, Faculty of Arts - Ain University Shams from August 6, 1998 until January 31, 2001, Assistant Professor of Ancient Egyptian Antiquities, Faculty of Arts, Ain Shams University, from March 25, 2001 to August 20, 2006, Professor of Ancient Egyptian Antiquities since August 21, 2006, Visiting Professor, Department of Ancient Egyptian Antiquities, University of Basel, Switzerland, in the summer semester 2005, he also taught the courses on “Antiquities of Egypt in the Late Period and the Ptolemaic Period” and “History of Ancient Egyptian Art” at the Department of Egyptian Antiquities at the American University in Cairo since February 1, 2006.

He participated in many international conferences, supervised a number of scientific thesis, and has many scientific researches. He also received the "Knight" Medal from the President of the Republic of Italy on October 10, 2004.

During his tenure in the Antiquities portfolio, Al-Damati was able to recover 460 artifacts and open 12 archaeological sites in Egypt.

A march full of knowledge, tender and distinguished by working to retrieve Egyptian antiquities and introduce them in every forum.