أهلا بك في جامعة عين شمس

أ.د. محمد عوض تاج الدين

أحد أبرز الأسماء المتداولة بقوة خلال فترة أزمة فيروس كورونا، وخاصة بعد اختياره كمستشار لرئيس الجمهورية للشؤون الصحية.. إنه الأستاذ الدكتور محمد عوض عفيفي تاج الدين.

الدكتور محمد عوض تاج الدين من مواليد محافظة القاهرة سنة 1945، حصل على بكالوريوس الطب والجراحة من جامعة عين شمس عام 1968، ودكتوراه في الطب من جامعة عين شمس عام 1976، ثم زمالة كلية أطباء الصدر بالولايات المتحدة الأمريكية سنة 1981، وعمل أستاذًا في قسم الأمراض الصدرية بكلية الطب جامعة عين شمس عام 1986.

شغل "تاج الدين" العديد من المناصب في جامعة عين شمس وفي كلية الطب تحديدًا، حيث تقلد منصب وكيل كلية الطب بجامعة عين شمس سنة 1992، ثم عميد الكلية، ثم نائب رئيس جامعة عين شمس لشئون التعليم والطلاب، ونائب رئيس لجنة قطاع الدراسات الطبية، ثم رئيس الجامعة في الفترة من سنة 1997 حتى سبتمبر 2001، قبل أن يقع عليه الاختيار ليكون وزيرًا للصحة والسكان، خلفا للدكتور إسماعيل سلام، وذلك في الفترة من 11 مارس 2002 إلى 31 ديسمبر 2005، في حكومتي الدكتور عاطف عبيد والدكتور أحمد نظيف.

وعُيّن الدكتور عوض تاج الدين، عضوًا بالمكتب التنفيذي لمنظمة الصحة العالمية (جنيف) من 2002- 2004، وعضو الجمعية العامة لمنظمة الصحة العالمية من 2002 إلى 2005، ومستشار منظمة الصحة العالمية، وعضوًا محكمًا في هيئة تحرير مجلة منظمة الصحة العالمية لإقليم شرق المتوسط، وعضو مؤتمرات جمعية الإيروسول في الطب العالمية بالولايات المتحدة، وإيطاليا، وسويسرا وألمانيا وفرنسا.

كما استعانت به الدولة المصرية في مواجهة أزمتي إنفلونزا الطيور والخنازير في الفترة بين 2007 و2009، واليوم تستعين به مصر لمواجهة أزمة فيروس كورونا، حيث عينه السيد الرئيس عبد الفتاح السيسي مستشارًا لرئيس الجمهورية للشؤون الصحية في مارس 2020.

حصد تاج الدين على عدة جوائز، منها جائزة سليمان أباظة من الجمعية الطبية المصرية لأمراض الصدر، وميدالية تذكارية بمناسبة التفوق في دبلوم الأمراض الصدرية والتمرن على مستوى مصر 1972، وجائزة الطبيب المثالي لجامعة عين شمس وشهادة تقدير ودرع نقابة أطباء مصر 1984-1990، وحاز على جائزة الدولة التقديرية في العلوم الطبية عام 2006. ​

كما حصل على درع وشهادة تقدير وتكريم من منظمة الصحة العالمية للدور الكبير والمتميز في القضاء على شلل الأطفال في مصر، والمساهمة في السيطرة على المرض في دول أخرى، وشهادة تقدير ودرع منظمة الصحة العالمية للدور الكبير والمساهمة في حملات وقوانين الحد من التدخين في مصر والعالم.

Welcome to Ain Shams University

Prof. Dr. Muhammed Awad Tag Eddin

One of the most prominent names that was repeated during the period of the Corona virus crisis, especially after his selection as an advisor to the President of the Republic for Health Affairs ... He is Prof. Dr. Muhammad Awad Afifi Tag Eddin.

Prof. Dr. Muhammad Awad Tag Eddin, born in Cairo Governorate in 1945, obtained a Bachelor of Medicine and Surgery from Ain Shams University in 1968, and a Doctor of Medicine from Ain Shams University in 1976, then a fellowship of the Faculty of Chest Physicians in the United States of America in 1981, and worked as a professor in the Department of Pathology Sadriya, Faculty of Medicine, Ain Shams University, 1986.

Tag Eddin held many positions at Ain Shams University and in the Faculty of Medicine in particular, where he held the position of Vice-President of the Faculty of Medicine at Ain Shams University in 1992, then the Dean of the Faculty, then Vice President of Ain Shams University for Education and Student Affairs, and Vice President of the Medical Studies Sector Committee, then the president of the university from the year 1997 to September 2001, before he was selected to be the minister of health and population, succeeding Dr. Ismail Salam, and that from March 11, 2002 to December 31, 2005, in the governments of Dr. Atef Ebeid and Dr. Ahmed Nazif.

Dr. Awad Tag Eddin was appointed as a member of the Executive Office of the World Health Organization (Geneva) from 2002-2004, a member of the General Assembly of the World Health Organization from 2002 to 2005, a consultant to the World Health Organization, a referee member of the editorial board of WHO Journal of the Eastern Mediterranean Region, and a member International Aerosol Society in Medicine conferences in the United States, Italy, Switzerland, Germany and France.

The Egyptian state also used him to confront the bird and swine flu crises between 2007 and 2009, and today Egypt is seeking help from him to confront the Corona virus crisis, as President Abdel Fattah El-Sisi appointed him as an advisor to the President of the Republic for Health Affairs in March 2020.

Tag Eddin won several awards, including the Solomon Abaza Award from the Egyptian Medical Association for Thoracic Diseases, a commemorative medal for excellence in the Diploma in Chest Diseases and Training in Egypt 1972, the Ideal Doctor Award for Ain Shams University and the Certificate of Appreciation and the Egyptian Medical Syndicate Shield 1984-1990 and State Merit Award in Medical Sciences in 2006.

He also received a shield, a certificate of appreciation and honor from the World Health Organization for the great and distinguished role in eradicating polio in Egypt, contributing to controlling disease in other countries, and a certificate of appreciation and shield of the World Health Organization for the great role and contribution to campaigns and laws to reduce smoking in Egypt and the world.